the 100 day project – day 19-25

First off, I just want to say that I have not been intentionally slacking on writing this past week. I moved over the weekend, and though we scheduled our internet hookup for the very next morning, that just didn’t happen.

The internet guy told us that he needed our landlord’s written permission before he could drill a hole to put in the cable, and his only response when I told him that this was ridiculous and should have been mentioned in advance was to tell me to “be cool” over and over again. “Be cool, man. Just be cool.” Umm… ok, guy. Thanks for the advice.

That night, my roommate and I realized that our house also wasn’t equipped with any modern plug ins. There might be one in the living room? But elsewhere in the house, it is old timey outlets all the way. I can’t even plug in my lamp :|

THANKFULLY, our landlord is coming by to swap them all out for new timey outlets tomorrow morning, but as you can imagine, the past few days have been pretty low tech. This coupled with the fact that Toronto is not really a coffee shop culture, and everything here closes at 6pm on the dot, has made it very very easy to make excuses in the writing realm. Phew.

So what else? Though the new house is in a state of disrepair, it is also lovely, and even though we’re still settling in, it already feels a lot like home. I can’t wait until we’re ACTUALLY settled in. Our housewarming later this month is going to be just the best.

I’m running a half marathon this weekend.

That fact still hasn’t quite sunk in. Sooooo… we’ll see how that goes. Well, I hope?

Spring has sprung, and I’m now riding my bike to work, and coupled with the fact that my route from the new place takes me along an actual bike route instead of a death trap route is HEAVENLY. I love zipping to work in 15 minutes flat. The fact that part of my ride is also through a big park certainly doesn’t hurt. Woo!

So there you have it. Updates for the past week. New Internets coming on Saturday, and more complex updates to follow.

The end.

Leave a Reply

