the 100 day project – 29/30

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset    Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset   Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

MORE RUNNIIIIIING. I know that I’ve made a lot of posts about running, but I guess that that’s because it’s been a bigger part of my life lately. It’s been a stressful year so far, and running is the only the activity in my life that just allows me to shut all of that off.

I ran my first half marathon on Sunday. I kind of registered on a peer pressurey whim, so hadn’t really been planning that far ahead for this race. I ran one longer run with a few running buddies, and it was tooooooough. So I had some idea of what to expect, but race days are always so different from your regular runs out on the road. I did not expect how emotional I would end up feeling over the whole thing. Which is like, get real, Altaira, you cry about freaking cat food commercials.

Anyways, there were a few instances in particular that got me all choked up. I was running with my friend Mary for the entire race, and at some point she started to pull ahead a little and I didn’t think that I could keep up. I decided that if this was where we parted ways, that it would be ok. And then up beside me comes my half marathon angel, apparently. This man touches me lightly on the shoulder, and then says very softly, “don’t let her go.” Said man then runs me up to beside Mary, and with a quick “good job”, he’s off.

I cannot explain how much this moment touched me. It was such a perfect example of a human just supporting another human.

One of the other mega moments of emotion was coming around Crew Love Corner (CLC). CLC is what we call the area where the Pardkale Roadrunners Cheer Squad sets up camp. You’re in the last leg of your race, and you know that CLC is coming up, and then when you round that corner, your heart bursts into a million flames. It is fucking magical. Having a crowd of 50 amazing folks who you run with week after week out there supporting you, and yelling your name, and setting off confetti canons, is indescribable. I died. I am so thankful every day for this bunch. The whole community is just pure support and love.

Aaaaaaannnd, on that note, i am nodding off and just started to type out one of my dreams. That’s a whole other story, but yes that happens. It was a real problem in my 3rd year stats class, because I would nod off often, and my notes would be normal one minute, then early dreamstate babble the next. It definitely made it tough to review notes.

More on running and other things later.

the end.

Leave a Reply

