Day One

IMG_0057.JPG

Yesterday I finally hopped on a plane with my bike, and the kitties, and trekked on back to BC to live on the Sunshine Coast. It feels both completely brand new, and like coming home, all at once. I’ve spent a lot of time here. I’ve got friends here. But there’s so much newness in actually living here.

The journey itself was a little hectic – bumped flight, delayed bumped flight, amazing airport >> horseshoe bay rescue by my pal Matt Milligan, ferry ride, and late evening pick up by Jac, but made it with the kitties and all of my things in one piece, and it’s so nice to have this feeling of home.

IMG_0025

I spent the day getting settled. I got some things for Rosemary and Thomas, answered emails, put my bike together, touched up my roots, and did laundry.

Before dinner, I biked to the store to pick up beers, icecream, and salad things, and riding my bike out here felt so nice. I’m sure that over time, there will be things about cycling on the side of a rural highway type road that will irk me, but for now I am just relishing the lack of city traffic. I am relishing the extreme chill West Coast vibes in such stark contrast to cycling in Toronto.

It is beautiful here, and it is magical, and I know it’s gonna’ be just great.

 

Leave a Reply

