Living on the Coast – Week 5

IMG_0783IMG_0785

Week 5.

It’s official. I have now been on the Sunshine Coast for just over a month.

This week I had a big case of the feels missing Toronto. I miss my old roommates Steve and Aaron, and my coffee shop haunts, and summer runs with Parkdale. This weekend especially, Toronto is into full summer, and watching everyone run the Toronto Waterfront 10k on social media gave me all the missing feelings. I wish that I could teleport back just for a week to go on a few crew runs and have some late night patio beers with pals. Why are flights across Canada so expensiiiiiiiive.

The Coast has gone into a little spell of Junuary, and I’m getting eager for super summer and swims in the sea.

The moments when I wasn’t having little longing pangs for Toronto though were pretty good.

Wednesday I had a really great working hangout with my new friend Jenn McRae, who is also a freelancer who is new(ish) to the coast. She has exactly the kind of house you would picture on the Sunshine Coast, with a long winding forest driveway, and a living room that looks over the beach. We worked in the morning, then took a mid-day break to grab some food at The Basted Baker and do some thrifting, then worked some more and had some dinner and chats. Hurray for co-work dates! It is so nice to be making connections with other people to work with.

On that note – I’ve been thinking more and more about my eventual plan to open a co-working space here on the Coast, and in the upcoming week I’ll be digging a little deeper into what that could look like, and making a business plan. Hurray! In the meantime, I’m searching out a venue to do a weekly co-working drop-in to gauge interest and figure out what next steps could look like. WORKING TOWARDS DREAMS, GUYS.

IMG_0826IMG_0832

Friday I ventured into the city to tell a story at Record Club, a storytelling night put on by the organizers of RainCity Chronicles that is themed around a specific album. This month’s album was Janet Jackson’s Control. Though I have hosted many many times, I have not given any sort of actual talk since university so I was nervous. When Lizzy Karp first invited me to share a story I had no idea what I would talk about, but said yes. Then when I sat down to brainstorm, it just poured out of me. I talked about being a perfectionist, and the need to be in control, and how running gave me a place to learn to be present and give up control. It brought me back a little to my first time hosting CMTO when Steven Artemiw talked about the ugly side of running. And it further reignited my love of running, and how it has changed me for the better. I practiced a million times, and was the most nervous getting on stage, but it all went smoothly and being done was THE BEST feeling. Hurray! The whole evening was pretty magical – the stories were so well curated, and another new pal Joni McKervey was also speaking. The atmosphere was super cozy and friendly, and it was the best. Afterwards, went to The Emerald with a few pals then crashed on Matt Milligan’s couch. Pals pals pals!

Met with my friend Nico for bfast before jumping on the ferry to head back to the coast.

I biked to and from the ferry – the ride into Langdale is super chill and lovely. The ride from Langdale into Gibsons is ONE GIANT HILL. Not gonna’ lie, I walked up part of it, because fixed gears are not made for this kind of hill riding.

Some old pals were visiting their parents in Davis Bay that night, and I decided that I might as well bike there too. Which was fine, except that I missed my turn off and biked 20 minutes out of my way, also up an enormous hill. :/ Whyyyyyyyyy. I keep just re-assuring myself that all of this cycling, and bike hiking up hills will lead to me being a super amazing cyclist again by the end of the summer. We had a lovely dinner, and drank drinks, and caught up, and had a marshmallow fight in the backyard. It was late, so I crashed at their place. In the morning, their mom made us the best giant breakfast and they gave me a ride home (no biking uphill for almost an hour hurraaaaaaaaaaaaaaay).

Sunday was all about naps, and then J made a really lovely dinner for Father’s Day.

Then on Monday, I went for a run that was not by myself!! YAAAAAAY. I went for the best run along the waterfront with Grace Carter, and baby Jo. We’re going to make a habit of running every Monday, and I am so happy to have a running pal again. Running alone is nice and all, but running with a partner is just unlike anything else. I couldn’t be happier, and I can’t wait for a many more runs in the future.

I took fewer photos this past week, so this post is pretty light on the photos. Gotta’ remember to take out that camera! More next week.

Leave a Reply

